Esku chapel and cemetery

Located in the forests of Lahemaa, the Esku chapel was built in 1845 by the Sagadi estate owners von Fock. The chapel was intended as a burial place for the Sagadi estate owners’ family and the estate’s peasants.

The Esku chapel yard became a cemetery under the authority of Baron Paul Eduard von Fock, the likes of which cannot be found elsewhere in Estonia. The uniqueness of the cemetery lies in the wooden crosses and the small, unique iron stone grave slabs found there. Next to the cemetery is a beautiful grove where the Altja stream flows.

In the modestly decorated chapel, there are 300 seats. The altar painting was created by the Munich artist J.C. Koch.